'How To Train Your Dragon 2' Soundtrack release date announced

Following the massive success of 2010's Oscar-nominated soundtrack for DreamWorks Animation's original "How To Train Your Dragon," Jónsi (frontman of the Icelandic atmospheric rock band, Sigur Rós) and composer John Powell are back, collaborating for the upcoming Original Motion Picture Soundtrack for How To Train Your Dragon 2, set to release via Relativity Music Group on June 10th, 2014 - three days before the film hits theaters nationwide.

*Film Industry Network earns a commission for products purchased through links included in this article.*

Jónsi has released his contribution to the soundtrack, "Where No One Goes," which you can stream on Pitchfork.The soundtrack will be available via iTunes on June 10th. Pre-orders are available now via Amazon here

Critically acclaimed composer John Powell has contributed original compositions to over 50 film scores including "Happy Feet", "Shrek," "PS. I Love You", "X-Men: The Last Stand", "Rio", "Ice Age: The Meltdown", "The Bourne Identity" series, "Mr. & Mrs. Smith," "Robots", and numerous others. Powell's outstanding work on 2010's "How To Train Your Dragon" landed him two International Film Music Critics Association Awards (Score of The Year, Best Score for an Animated Feature) andearned him his first Academy Award®nomination at the 83rd Academy Awards.

Jónsi, internationally known for being the guitarist and vocalist for Icelandic post-rock band, Sigur Rós, isn't new to the scoring world. In addition to composing the score for "We Bought A Zoo," his original song, "Sticks and Stones" for 2010's How To Train Your Dragon, skyrocketed into a world wide hit, with critical praise from the likes of Pitchfork, Indiewire, Stereogum, SPIN, Vulture, Consequence of Sound and more, including a late night performance on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon.

In theaters nationwide June 13th,the thrilling second chapter of the epic "How to Train Your Dragon" trilogy returns to the fantastical world of the heroic Viking Hiccup and his faithful dragon Toothless. The inseparable duo must protect the peace - and save the future of men and dragons from the power-hungry Drago."How to Train Your Dragon 2" is written and directed by Dean DeBlois (How to Train Your Dragon, Lilo & Stitch) and features an all-star cast including Jay Baruchel, Cate Blanchett, Gerard Butler, Craig Ferguson, America Ferrera, Jonah Hill, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, T.J. Miller, Kristen Wiig, Djimon Hounsou, and Kit Harington.

A ZinePak edition of the "How To Train Your Dragon 2" soundtrack will be released on June 10 exclusively at Walmart and Walmart.com. The ZinePak will include the 19-track CD with music from the motion picture, a 64-page magazine including a dragon field guide, games, and activities plus a collectible dragon insignia patch and posters. This limited-edition collectible is available only at Walmart while supplies last.

"How To Train Your Dragon 2: Music from the Motion Picture" Track Listing:

01. Dragon Racing
02. Together We Map the World
03. Hiccup the Chief/Drago's Coming
04. Toothless Lost
05. Should I Know You?
06. Valka's Dragon Sanctuary
07. Losing Mom/Meet the Good Alpha
08. Meet Drago
09. Stoick Finds Beauty
10. Flying with Mother
11. For the Dancing and the Dreaming
12. Battle of the Bewilderbeast
13. Hiccup Confronts Drago
14. Stoick Saves Hiccup
15. Stoick's Ship
16. Alpha Comes to Berk
17. Toothless Found
18. Two New Alphas
19. Where No One Goes

Pre-order here

Relativity Music Group recently released soundtracks for DreamWorks Animation's Mr. Peabody & Sherman, The Croods, Safe Haven, Millennium Films' Olympus Has Fallen and The Iceman as well as Focus Features' Hyde Park on Hudson and Promised Land.

Film Industry Network receives a commission when a product is purchased through affiliate links included in this article.

film industry network members