Robert De Niro to award actors with 10th Anniversary Chopard Trophy

Trophée Chopard 2011

Robert De Niro will award an upcoming actor and actress at the 10th anniversary of the Chopard Trophy in Cannes. As this year’s President of the Jury, De Niro is the face of the Cannes Film Festival, and will be patron of the special event.

De Niro will hand out the Chopard Trophy, which recognizes excellence in the entertainment industry to upcoming talent who show ‘outstanding promise in the international movie world.’

This year’s selection was chosen by a panel of professionals including Actress Marisa Berenson, producer Takis Candilis, director Claude Lelouche, Mathieu Carratier, Chief Editor of Première magazine, and Caroline Gruosi-Scheufele.

Previous recipients of the prestigious Award include the likes of Oscar winning Marion Cotillard, Diane Kruger, Gael Garcia-Bernal and Jonathan Rhys-Meyers.

Chopard, designs the Palme d’Or Award, the Cannes Film Festival's highest honour.

Robert De Niro will hand out the Chopard Award on Saturday 14th May followed by an exclusive after party in Cannes.

film industry network members