Vote for the 8 Finalists Get LA film competition


Audience Favorite Prize Determined by Online Voting


Panel of well-known Angelenos, including Richard Dreyfuss, David Arquette, City Council President Eric Garcetti, and David Strasberg Make "Official"Selection


What: GetL.A.  an online short film competition. The theme, What do you love or hate about L.A?, covered a lot of ground, literally, from downtown to the beach and up in the mountains from a diverse group of individuals: musicians, artists, filmmakers, amateurs, film students, high school students and seniors, all that make up our vast metropolis. The three-minute films were varied and included many styles - - - biographical, documentary, fictional, or aspirational portraits of the city.

Who: To the City of Angeles by Jay McClatchy                       Eagle Rock California by Evan Mather

(time lapse, sunsets, and stunning landscapes)                       (a slice of small town Americana)

F.LA.S.H by James Song                                                                                         This is My City by Laura Villalpando

(about the lights of Los Angeles)                                                                   (hard work, big dreams, loss and longing)

Mrs. Kim by Aya Tanimura                                                                                         BoXed In L.A. By Joey Schober

(saving Young Hollywood)                                                                                         (commentary on parking in L.A.)

Pearl by Alyssa Price                                                                                         The Buy by Jeffrey Nagel

(day in the life of an actress in LA from her car)                       (looking for a sense of community)

When:Today through April 1st, voters go to to view entries

Site also provides more information on the competition, such as bios on judges, participant s profiles, commentary on other films, and the benefiting organization s mission statement.

Why:  Los Angeles magazine Foundation and L.A. Works, LA s premier non profit-volunteer action center,  sponsored the month-long competition, GET L.A.,  on the magazine s web site, An Audience Favorite will be chosen online and a panel of notable Angelenos will choose an Official Selection. The winners will be announced on April 16 that City Hall with a special screening and reception. Other prizes include coverage in Los Angeles magazine and a meeting with a top entertainment agent or studio executive.

*Panel members include actors David Arquette and Richard Dreyfuss, Los Angeles City Council President Eric Garcetti, David Strasberg (The Lee Strasberg Theatre & Film Institute), Lauren Dolgen (VP Series Development at MTV), Arianne Phillips (Oscar-nominated Costume Designer), Joe Morgenstern (Pulitzer Prize Winning Film Critic), and more.

film industry network members