British Citizen Award Presented To Fact Not Fiction Films CEO Captain Tristan Loraine

London, England. The House of Lords will today see the inaugural presentation of the new British Citizen Award to 26 British Citizens. The award, open to each and every UK citizen serves to recognise exceptional endeavour.

Captain Loraine’s award comes in recognition for his 14 years of global work on the issue of contaminated air on aircraft.

His work on the issue began in 2001 when he was a union Health and Safety representative at British Airways. In 2006 he was ill health retired as a consequence of exposure to contaminated air, a year after completing the Ironman triathlon. After retraining at the National Film and Television School, Loraine set up the Production Company Fact Not Fiction Films and was also elected as co-chairman of the Global Cabin Air Quality Executive (GCAQE). The GCAQE is the lead international organisation attempting to address these matters on behalf of aircrew worldwide and represents over 750,000 members.

In 2007, Loraine released his first book on the subject entitled ‘Toxic Airlines’.

Fact Not Fiction Films has produced three documentaries on the issue of contaminated air since 2006, including ‘Welcome Aboard Toxic Airlines’ that triggered two calls for a Public Inquiry when it was released in the UK in 2007.

On 27th February 2015, it releases ‘A Dark Reflection’; it’s first feature film on the issue into selected cinemas starring Georgina Sutcliffe, Rita Ramnani and Marina Sirtis.

“I am so honoured to be one of the first 26 people to receive the new British Citizen Award. I am but one of the many people who are trying to resolve this important health and flight safety issue. It has been a long journey and the public deserve to know the truth and be protected,” commented director/producer Tristan Loraine.

Additional information is available from:

For further information contact:

Dr. Susan Michaelis
Fact Not Fiction Films
productions AT
+44 (0) 1403 734550
+44 (0) 7880 554551

film industry network members