film news

AFM : Former NFL star Simeon Rice to make feature film debut

Simeon Rice is used to seeing his work on the big screen. In his former career as an NFL linebacker, it was his fearsome play on the stadium jumbotron. Today, it is his work as a motion picture director.

At the American Film Market, which runs Nov. 5-12 in Santa Monica, Rice will be promoting his first feature-length motion picture, an action thriller titled, Unsullied. A market screening is scheduled for 11 a.m. PT on Sat., Nov. 8 at the Fairmont Hotel in Santa Monica. For more information on the film and to see the trailer, visit

Unsullied, a Dreamline Pictures production, was written and directed by Rice and produced by Dreamline’s Michelle Gracie, Ghana Cooper and John Nodilo (who penned the screenplay from Rice’s story). Unsulllied stars newcomer and UCLA film school alum Murray Gray as the story’s heroine, together with CAA actor Rusty Joiner (Dodgeball, Resident Evil) and James Gaudioso (Duke, The Ghost and The Whale).

Unsullied Trailer

Loosely based on a true event, Unsullied tells the story of Reagan Farrow, a talented young athlete grieving over the tragic loss of older sister, whose memory and inspiration helps Reagan survive her own life-and-death struggle as she flees her captors in the wilderness. The film was shot on location in Tampa, Fla., by cinematographer Scott Winig, best known for his award-winning music videos for Grammy-winning artists including Willie Nelson, Lil' Wayne and T.I.

“For this story, it was important for me to work with female producers to enhance the female perspective,” said Rice. “There’s a strong underlying message about women taking control that I think is very important, and I would not have captured the true spirit of that without the women on our team – both in front of and behind the camera.”

Simeon Rice and Dreamline representatives will be available at Booth 308 throughout AFM. For interviews or to attend the screening, please contact Charles Upchurch at [email protected].

film industry network members